Cohort Celebration + Pitch Day

Schedule of Events

We are excited to welcome our cohort and celebrate their progress as they turn ideas into businesses.

1:00 PM WELCOME - Sean Bauld, TXST New Ventures Team Lead
1:10 PM - 2:00 PM


  • Aqua Sip
  • RASS
  • Mirrorgen
  • Vitruvian
2:00 PM - 2:15 PM KEYNOTE - Christy Cardenas, GRIT Ventures


LOCATION:  Alkek 250 - Teaching Theater, San Marcos Campus (view campus map)


2022 winners with check

Past Events and Cohort Celebration

Competition Judges and Keynote Speaker

Thank you for your time and expertise to provide valuable feedback to these incredible TXST teams!

photo of christy cardenas

Christy Cardenas, CPA

Managing Partner, Grit Ventures

Kristin Norton

Kristin Norton, Ph.D.

CEO, Green Room Technologies

Clarence Henderson photo

Clarence Henderson

Founder, National Defense Battle Labs

Paul OBrien photo

Paul O'Brien

CEO, Media Tech Ventures

Jane Hughson photo

Jane Hughson

Mayor, City of San Marcos Texas

Alex Villalobos photo

Alex Villalobos

Chief of Staff, Hays County

Meet the Cohort

Finalists and Semifinalists Include:

Aqua Sip Water

swirl logo

Sustainable, innovative, and affordable purification technology.




mirrorgen logo

Ultra-stable mirror image DNA to detect cancer biomarkers in blood for accurate, ealry-stage diagnostics.


Seed Innovation Company

seed innovation company logo

Algae-based manufacturing company focusing on selection, growth, and application of algae in a variety of industries, from cosmetics to plastic recycling.

AGEA Seismic Solutions

AGEA logo

Protecting structures and machines from earthquake or other damage with smart metal cusion dampers.


RASS logo

AI-based Roadway Condition Tracking System that continuously monitors roadway assets to reduce maintenance costs.


vitruvian logo

Human digital twin technology to optimize performance, ensure safety and drive productivity in industrial and manufacturing opperations.

ECO Rescue

ECO Rescue logo

Transforming animal and food waste to valuable resources.

Event Sponsors and Partners

AWS logo
san marcos chamber of commerce logo
AIX Media logo
dell for startups logo
CIM logo
downtown association logo
Meadows Center logo
media innovation lab logo
Splash logo
THRC logo
UFCU logo

Special thanks to our university administrators and collaborators

None of this would be possible without your continued support and involvement to grow the culture an infrastructure for innovation + entrepreneurship at Texas State!

President, Dr. Kelly Damphousse

Provost, Dr. Gene Bourgeois

Dr. Shreek Mandayam, VP for Research

Dr. Jennifer Irvin, Co-Director MARC and STAR Park

Dr. Jana Minifie, Faculty Innovation Accelerator Program

Sean Bauld, TXST New Ventures Program Lead

Dan Roy, Co-Director Center for Innovation + Entrepreneurship

Dr. Shannon Weigum, Co-Director Center for Innovation + Entrepreneurship

Funding Generously Provided By:

Albert & Margaret Alkek Foundation